TBR Tuesday - Exorcists, Slayers, and Kingdoms

TBR TUESDAY IS BACK! When I first started this blog I used to forward to TBR Tuesday because it gets me excited about the future books I want to read. It also allowed me to search for even more books to add to my TBR pile. 


I stopped this tag after a couple of months because I got overwhelmed with college and personal life. Now, I better understand how to manage my school life, work life, and blogging life. So hopefully I won't take a break from this tag any time soon. 

Tuesday's will be a mix of what books I recently added to my TBR pile or just some random things about books I look forward to. 

Let's get started with this weeks. 

1) Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys 

A slick thriller from the author of HEXED, perfect for fans of THE CELLAR by Natasha Preston and PANIC by Lauren Oliver.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mom and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’s going to afford college.And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb. 

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money. 
But the Society isn’t all that it seems . . . and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice—it’s a requirement


2) Invidious by Bianca Scaroni 

The steep descent into Hell is always paved with good intentions. 

My name is Jemma Blackburn, and I'm a Slayer. Finding out I wasn't human was only the beginning of my problems. My best-friend, Taylor, is still missing, and so is the Immortal Amulet, and it's my job alone to get them both back. I don't know who I can trust, and I'm still not sure I'm cut out for any of this, but I'm determined to figure it all out, or die trying.

As if that wasn't bad enough, there's a new enemy in town and they've come bearing gifts—an ancient prophesy that is going to blur the very lines between good and evil. And, apparently, my blood is tied to the center of it. I don't have all the answers yet, but I’m getting closer and closer to discovering the truth. The truth about my bloodlines, and about who I really am. 

And, believe me when I say, it's going to change everything.

Invidious is the highly anticipated second installment in The Marked series, a fast-paced paranormal romance filled with self-discovery, mystery, love, and a unique supernatural world that will leave you captivated and hungry for more. 




3) Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristof 

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she'd never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes



4) The Flame Never Dies by Rachel Vincent 

For fans of Cassandra Clare and Richelle Mead comes the unputdownable sequel to The Stars Never Rise, a book Rachel Caine, author of the bestselling Morganville Vampires series, called “haunting, unsettling, and eerily beautiful.” 

ONE SPARK WILL RISE. Nina Kane was born to be an exorcist. And since uncovering the horrifying truth—that the war against demons is far from over—seventeen-year-old Nina and her pregnant younger sister, Mellie, have been on the run, incinerating the remains of the demon horde as they go. 

In the badlands, Nina, Mellie, and Finn, the fugitive and rogue exorcist who saved her life, find allies in a group of freedom fighters. They also face a new threat: Pandemonia, a city full of demons. But this fresh new hell is the least of Nina’s worries. The well of souls ran dry more than a century ago, drained by the demons secretly living among humans, and without a donor soul, Mellie’s child will die within hours of its birth.

Nina isn’t about to let that happen . . . even if it means she has to make the ultimate sacrifice


5) The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal

On the eve of Princess Sophia’s wedding, the Scandinavian city of Skyggehavn prepares to fete the occasion with a sumptuous display of riches. Yet beneath the veneer of celebration, a shiver of darkness creeps through the palace halls. A mysterious illness plagues the royal family, threatening the lives of the throne’s heirs, and a courtier’s wolfish hunger for the king’s favors sets a devious plot in motion.

Here in the palace at Skyggehavn, things are seldom as they seem—and when a single errant prick of a needle sets off a series of events that will alter the course of history, the fates of seamstress Ava Bingen and mute nursemaid Midi Sorte become irrevocably intertwined. As they navigate a tangled web of palace intrigue, power-lust, and deception, Ava and Midi must carve out their own survival any way they can.




It feels great to blog again.

Tell me what book you have added to your TBR pile!

**all summaries can be found on goodreads

No comments:

Post a Comment