[Review] Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta

Summary:

A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.

All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.

Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife.
 


Review:

tw: self harm

I have mix feelings about this novel. There were things I loved but things I felt uncomfortable with. The setting was unique and I’ve always wanted to read a novel about Scotland. I also really liked the mystery behind it and the flashbacks to the past. These are the only positive things I found in this novel. The characters were meh. I really didn’t connect with the main character.

There are descriptive scenes of self harm mentioned several times throughout the novel. There are also thoughts of self harm too from the main character. There is a reason why that she does this but I felt kinda off about it. 


This book was on my to read list for a long time now and I was just left disappointed at the end.


Overall I would give Bad Blood 2 stars ⭐️⭐️

For more information about this book please visit goodreads

No comments:

Post a Comment